Shameless Plugs

Shameless Plug – Maps, Languages, Sports, and the Pater familias

This week, as I’ve said, I’m pretty busy so I haven’t had a lot of time to look for “cool shit” – which means that what I’m plugging this week is mostly stuff I’ve come across incidentally or in the pursuit of some other aim.

First of all, as I’m sure anyone following this blog has noticed, I’m all about mapping these days. Which means I’ve got a big plug for the Cartographer’s Guild, which is basically just a forum for map-making enthusiasts (and some pros, it looks like – I haven’t had time to dig deep just yet). I recently downloaded a new tutorial by Ascension (the CG member whose tutorial I’m mostly following while doing the World Workshop articles) – this one about mapping cities – which I’m looking forward to digging into, after I finish all my school assignments. Also, a secondary map-themed plug for the Athasian Cartographer’s Guild, which seems to be less of a community than it is a place to get all kinds of Dark Sun maps and mapping resources.

Sticking with the World Workshop stuff, I want to give a plug to Sean K. Reynolds’  awesome articles on the Dwarven, Elven, and Draconic languages (which originally appeared in Dragon Magazine issues 278, 279, and 284) and can now be found on Fantasist.net (which I haven’t had a chance to check out beyond those three articles yet). I used the stuff on the Draconic language in naming the city of Io’Rasvim, and plan on making good use of the other articles as well.

A plug also goes out to the HBO documentary Magic and Bird: A Courtship of Rivals, which is about Magic Johnson and Larry Bird’s concurrent rise to NBA superstardom, and the incredible rivalry that existed between them. People who know me, know I’m not really a sports guy, but I found this movie fascinating – if nothing else, it provides a fascinating insight on how to create a rivalry with a foe who isn’t really a “villain.”

And, lastly, a great big plug goes out to my dad. I’ve always had the habit of inventing words out of nowhere, and I always assumed that was just something I did that didn’t come from anywhere. Turns out it runs in the family, as he busted out the following gem yesterday afternoon as a way of explaining a bad habit he and I both possess:

pre-cras-ti-nate: to be completely aware of one’s tendency to procrastinate, to the point of being able to plan in advance to not do something

